Sea Glass and Sun Porches

beachy

Spring is here!  It is a wonderful time of year when everything comes alive.  The ground, once drab is showing signs of new grass sprouting and little shoots peeking through the flower beds’ mulch.

We had a lot of snow this winter.  I watched the banks slowly diminish once the calendar announced that spring was officially here.  Unfortunately, in the same week we had two snow storms back to back covering everything up again with a blanket of white.  No matter, it will go…it always does.  Thanks to Mother Nature!

shore glass

Shore glass, still pretty but really sharp!

It is also the time of year when I open ‘the cottage’.  Well it is not a cottage per se…it is my sun porch.  It is like a cottage though because it is closed all winter and I often gaze longingly out there wanting my favorite spot beside a breezy window to read or write (or maybe just to sip on something).  It is in this very sun porch that I love to display all the beach finds like sea glass and everything else that catches my eye.

Sea glass (or as some like to call “mermaid tears”) comes in several varieties.  There is the tumbled smooth, sea variety and then there is the ‘shore’ glass I gather on my beach.  I like to think of it as virgin sea glass! It is rough and sharp because it has not made its way out to sea yet to get the sharp edges worn smooth.  I collect it anyway.  I really don’t want to step on it nor do I want any little person to get cut.  When I first picked it up I didn’t intend to keep it.  I did.  Surprised?  It still looks pretty displayed in an antique pickle jar (or a fancy cylinder as in the picture), and to avoid being over-run with it I am a little more discriminate now about what I keep.

seaglass

Sea glass displayed in containers with inserted candles to help illuminate the beautiful colors.

Then there is the sea variety.  It is found on the north and south shore beaches and at times is so small you might even miss it.  The edges are worn smooth and some pieces have been around for decades.  Hundreds of people handpick sea glass on PEI, but there is always plenty left to find.  The sea replenishes it daily. I don’t collect it anymore because I have enough.  Local artisans use it to make jewelry and just about anything else they can think of – the possibilities are endless! Most sea glass comes from bottles, but it can also come from jars, plates, windows, windshields, ceramics or sea pottery.  I have several chunks of pottery pieces and I marvel at how smooth they have become! Some shards of black glass are very old.  A person could spend days researching their sea glass collections!

DSCF9341

Driftwood, shells, glass balls, rocks and a lantern for ambient light!

What to do with all the other junk?  I can’t seem to part with the small pieces of wood that are so smooth from the action of the sea.  I display them in a bowl.  I add other things for interest and it becomes a work of art.  Of course I didn’t just have this bowl on hand.  On a quest for something else, I happened upon this lovely terra cotta bowl at Winners (9.99$).  It didn’t look that interesting in the store, but on closer inspection it was exactly what I was looking for; earthy, organic and of course the perfect color.  Terra Cotta never goes out of fashion.

Soon the dust bunnies and the spider webs (where exactly do these spiders come from?) will be swished away and I can start once again outfitting the sun porch with all things ‘beachy’.

beach treasures

An antique ship’s wheel corals some driftwood, burlwood and heart shaped rocks for a beachy centerpiece.

simplify

An old barn bench in the sun porch is perfect for displaying an antique wooden decoy found on the side of the road (gift from hubby)held snugly inside a twisted piece of driftwood. A 2×6 plank with an inspirational message made from pebbles (gift from friend) reminds me daily to purge. Reuse, repurpose, recycle…

Leave a Reply

